Teacher of the Year

 Selma City Schools on Thursday announced the 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year nominees. They are:

Clark Elementary: Denisha Streeter (Fifth Grade) 

Edgewood Elementary: Kendra Murray (First Grade) 

Knox Elementary: Erica Lumpkin (Physical Education) 

Payne Elementary: Keonta Melton (Reading Specialist) 

Sophia P. Kingston: Kimberly McKinley (Fifth Grade) 

Meadowview Elementary: Alicia Smith (Third Grade) 

School of Discovery: Kathryn Salzman (History/ELA) 

RB Hudson STEAM Academy: Monica Russell (7th Grade Accelerated Math/Math Coach) 

Selma High: Katrina Logan (Mathematics) 

"Teachers have the single greatest impact on learning. I congratulate each of our Teacher of the Year Nominees and thank them for their continued excellence and for choosing Team Selma. Our scholars are extremely blessed."-Dr. Avis Williams, Superintendent 

Each nominee will now be in the running for District Teacher of the Year. From there, the district winner will represent Team Selma in the states Teacher of the Year competition later this Spring.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.