HURRICANE10 low res.jpg

Debris from Hurricane Zeta was moved to clear roadways, like Dallas Avenue that was blocked immediately after the storm, but now piles up and needs cleanup. Photo by William Crawford

FEMA has approved the state of Alabama's request for federal disaster aid related to damage from Hurricane Zeta.

This comes about six weeks after the storm hit central Alabama on Oct. 29.

The public assistance is approved for 19 counties, including Dallas, and individual assistance for seven counties including Dallas.

Gov. Kay Ivey said in a press release Thursday evening that she talked to the president this afternoon and got the OK.

“On my call with President Trump earlier today, he assured me that we could consider our request for federal aid following Hurricane Zeta done, and he quickly delivered. Within hours of our call, FEMA approved our request for public and individual assistance. This will go a long way in providing the people impacted by Zeta the help they need.”

Counties eligible for public assistance include, Autauga, Butler, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coosa, Dallas, Elmore, Hale, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Perry, Randolph, Talladega, Washington, and Wilcox.

Counties eligible for individual assistance include, Clarke, Dallas, Marengo, Mobile, Perry, Washington, and Wilcox.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.